All the big winners at the 7th EDDYs


The 7th Entertainment Editors’ Choice Awards, also known as The EDDYS, celebrated a star-studded night at the Ceremonial Hall of the Marriott Grand Ballroom, Newport World Resorts, Pasay City, honoring outstanding achievements in Philippine cinema.

The event, organized by the Society of Philippine Entertainment Editors (SPEEd), was directed by the award-winning actor and filmmaker Eric Quizon.

Janine Gutierrez, Gabbi Garcia, and Jake Ejercito served as hosts, while veteran radio-online personality Mr. Fu was the Red Carpet host.

Julia Montes and Charlie Dizon shared the Best Actress award for their performances in “Five Breakups and a Romance” and “Third World Romance,” respectively. Piolo Pascual was awarded Best Actor for his role in “Mallari.”

The Best Film accolade went to “About Us But Not About Us,” top-billed by actors Romnick Sarmenta and Elijah Canlas. Jun Robles Lana, who directed the film, also took home the Best Director award.

About Us But Not About Us stars Elijah Canlas and Romnick Sarmenta with the film’s producer Perci Intalan

Gladys Reyes won Best Supporting Actress for her role in “Apag,” while Enchong Dee was honored as Best Supporting Actor for “GomBurZa.” The Best Screenplay award was given to Jun Robles Lana for “About Us But Not About Us.”

In technical categories, “Mallari” dominated with several wins: Juan Lorenzo Orendain for Best Cinematography, Mariel Hizon for Best Production Design, Von de Guzman for Best Musical Score, and Immanuel Verona and Nerikka Salim for Best Sound.

Lawrence S. Ang won Best Editing for “About Us But Not About Us,” and “Shake, Rattle & Roll Extreme” took home the Best Visual Effects award.

The Best Original Theme Song award went to “Sa Duyan ng Bayan” from “GomBurZa,” performed by Noel Cabangon, Ebe Dancel, and Gloc-9, with music and lyrics by Krina Cayabyab and Gloc-9.

The event featured special performances by Jed Madela, Ogie Alcasid, drag queens Rampa Reynas, and young artists Elisha Ponti and Andrea Gutierrez.

Notable highlights included the recognition of new EDDYS Icons, such as Nova Villa, Leo Martinez, Lito Lapid, Eva Darren, and Gina Alajar, for their contributions to the film industry.

Darren, who previously made headlines after being replaced at the last minute as an award presenter at the 72nd FAMAS awards night, delivered an emotional speech honoring her and her fellow movie icons for their significant impact on the Philippine film industry.

A posthumous award was given to the late Carlo J. Caparas, received by his children, Peach and CJ. Caparas passed away last May at the age of 80.

Children of renowned late comics creator Carlo J. Caparas, Peach, and CJ.

SPEEd also honored Julian and Piolo alongside several industry figures: Dingdong Dantes, Marian Rivera, Alden Richards, and Kathryn Bernardo, as EDDYS Box Office Heroes for their significant contributions to Philippine cinema.

The Isah V. Red Award was presented to former Ilocos Sur Governor Luis “Chavit” Singson and Quezon City Mayor Joy Belmonte, while Korina Sanchez received the Joe Quirino Award, and Ronald Constantino was honored with the Manny Pichel Award.

The Rising Producer Circle Award was given to Mentorque Productions for producing “My Father Myself” and “Mallari.”

The annual EDDYS event, organized by the Society of Philippine Entertainment Editors, continues to honor the “best of the best” in Philippine cinema, with SPEEd members comprising current and former entertainment editors from leading newspapers and online sites in the Philippines.

The organization’s president, Salve Asis, of Pilipino Star Ngayon and Pang Masa, led this year’s event.

The event was made possible with the collaboration of Newport World Resorts and ALLTV, where a delayed telecast will be broadcast on July 14 at 10 PM.

Patricia Dela Roca
Patricia Dela Roca
Patricia Dela Roca is a content producer with nerdy tendencies. She tends to lose herself in writing, films, fictional novels, video games, and in her Kpop bias' eyes.