More cinemas asked to show 2019 MMFF big winner Mindanao


Mindanao, a film about a Muslim mother caring for a daughter afflicted with cancer, dominated the 45th Metro Manila Film Festival (MMFF) Awards Night on Friday at the New Frontier Theater in Quezon City.

Mindanao received a total of 11 awards, including Best Picture and Best Director for Brillante Mendoza. During his speech, the Cannes-winning indie filmmaker said that he offered the award to the child victims of cancer and to the soldiers, who played a vital role in the film.

Mindanao wins Best Picture and Best Director for Brillante Mendoza at the 45th Metro Manila Film Festival’s Gabi ng Parangal held at New Frontier Theater. — Photos by Miguel de Guzman/Philippine Star

Mindanao also won the top acting awards for its lead stars.

Judy Ann Santos was named Best Actress for her portrayal of a mother who will do everything to save her sick child while waiting for her soldier husband, played by Allen Dizon, to come home from deployment.

In her speech, Judy Ann hopes that after the awarding, more cinemas would be convinced to show their film.

“Bilang kaunti lang po iyong sinehan namin, baka puwedeng pakidamihan naman po. Pakisabi na lang,” she said.

Allen, on the other hand, took home the Best Actor honor, pulling an “upset win” over Aga Muhlach who was earlier favored to nab the prize for his performance in Miracle in Cell No. 7.

MMFF 2019 Best Actress Judy Ann Santos and Best Actor Allen Dizon.

The rest of the awards received by Mindanao were Best Child Performer for Yuna Tangod, FPJ Memorial Award, Gatpuno Antonio J. Villegas Cultural Award, Best Visual Effects, Best Sound, Gender Sensitive Award and Best Float.

The 45th MMFF also honored Hall of Famers and industry stalwarts.

Check out the full list of winners below.

  • Best Actress: Judy Ann Santos – Mindanao
  • Best Actor: Allen Dizon – Mindanao
  • Best Picture: Mindanao
  • 2nd Best Picture: Write About Love
  • 3rd Best Picture: Sunod
  • Best Director: Brillante Mendoza – Mindanao
  • Special Jury Prize (writing): Crisanto Aquino – Write About Love
  • Special Jury Prize (cast): Culion
  • Best Screenplay: Write About Love
  • Best Supporting Actress: Yeng Constantino – Write About Love
  • Best Supporting Actor: Joem Bascon – Write About Love
  • FPJ Memorial Award: Mindanao
  • Gatpuno Antonio J Villegas Cultural Award: Mindanao
  • Best Visual Effects: Mindanao
  • Best Production Design: Sunod
  • Best Original Song: Ikaw ang Akin – Write About Love
  • Best Musical Score: Write About Love
  • Best Sound: Mindanao
  • Best Child Performer: Yuna Tangod – Mindanao
  • Gender Sensitive Award: Mindanao
  • Best Float: Mindanao
  • Best Student Short Film Award: Pamana ni Lola

MMFF Hall of Fame Awardees

  • Industry Stalwarts: Marichu Vera-Perez, Boots Anson-Rodrigo, Bienvenido Lumbera and Joseph Estrada
  • Best Actor: Anthony Alonzo and Christopher De Leon
  • Best Actress: Nora Aunor, Amy Austria, Vilma Santos-Recto and Maricel Soriano
  • Best Supporting Actress: Eugene Domingo and Cherie Gil
  • Best Director: Marilou Diaz-Abaya, Joel Lamangan and Jose Javier Reyes
  • Best Screenplay/Story: Roy Iglesias, Ricky Lee and Jose Javier Reyes
  • Best Cinematographer: Rudy Lacap, Lee Meily, Carlo Mendoza and Romy Vitug
  • Best Sound Engineer: Ditoy Aguila, Michael Albert Idioma and Rolly Ruta
  • Best Musical Score: Dionisio Buencamino, Von de Guzman, Jaime Fabregas and Jessie Lasaten
  • Best Editor: Vito Cajili, Manet Dayrit, Jess Navaroo and Edgardo Vinarao
  • Best Visual Effects: Roadrunner Network, Inc.

Janelle Lorzano
Janelle Lorzano
Janelle Lorzano likes long walks on the seaside and listening to people about their lives. When she isn't writing, she travels and discover new places.