MMFF 2020: Fan Girl wins 9 awards, including Best Picture


Fan Girl won nine awards, including best picture, at the virtual “Gabi ng Parangal” of the 46th Metro Manila Film Festival (MMFF).

The film about a girl’s obsession with a screen idol also won best director and screenplay for Antoinette Jadaone, and best actor and actress honors for the lead stars Paolo Avelino and Charlie Dizon.

Here’s the complete 46th MMFF Honor Roll:

Best Picture: Fan Girl

2nd Best Picture: The Boy Foretold By The Stars

3rd Best Picture: Tagpuan

Best Director: Antoinette Jadaone (Fan Girl)

Best Actress: Charlie Dizon (Fan Girl)

Best Actor: Paulo Avelino (Fan Girl)

Best Supporting Actress: Shaina Magdayao (Tagpuan)

Best Supporting Actor: Michael de Mesa (Isa Pang Bahaghari)

Best Screenplay: Fan Girl (Antoinette Jadaone)

FPJ Memorial Award: Magikland

Gatpuno Antonio J. Villegas Cultural Award: Suarez: The Healing Priest

Gender Sensitivity Award: The Boy Foretold By The Stars

Best Cinematography: Fan Girl (Neil Daza)

Best Editing: Fan Girl (Benjamin Tolentino)

Best Production Design: Magikland (Ericson Navarro)

Best Visual Effects: Magikland (Richard Francia, Ryan Grimarez of Central Digital Lab)

Best Original Theme Song: The Boy Foretold by the Stars (Ulan by Jhay Cura/Pau Protacio)

Best Musical Score: Magikland (Emerzon Texon)

Best Sound: Fan Girl (Vincent Villa)

Best Child Performer: Seiyo Masunaga (The Missing)

Best Student Film: Paano Maging Babae (De La Salle College of St. Benilde)

Best Virtual Float: Magikland (1st place), Isa Pang Bahaghari (2nd place), Fan Girl (3rd place)

Manay Ichu Memorial Award: Gloria Romero

Special Jury Prize: Peque Gallaga

Latest Chika TEAM
Latest Chika TEAM
Latest Chika is PSN and Philippine STAR's online entertainment hub | Your one stop shop for the latest showbiz news, trending, viral stories, and more!