4th Eddys to stream on FDCP Channel


The best in Philippine Cinema from the past year will be recognized by the Society of Philippine Entertainment Editors (SPEEd) at the 4th Entertainment Editors’ Choice (Eddys) virtual awards night Easter Sunday, April 4.

The Eddys, which is in partnership with the Film Development Council of the Philippines (FDCP), will be streamed live and for free on the FDCP Channel (fdcpchannel.ph) starting at 8 p.m. There will be simulcasts on the SPEEd Facebook page as well as on the YouTube channels and Facebook accounts or pages of several SPEEd members.

Who made it to The Eddys list? In its relatively short run in the local awards circuit, The Eddys — organized by the members of the Society of Philippine Entertainment Editors(SPEEd), has become a voice of credibility.


While the year 2020 had seriously hampered filmmaking due to quarantine restrictions arising from the global pandemic, the entertainment industry came out with finished works that The Eddys now honors in its annual awards.

The competition is intense among the nominees in the major awards, the announcement of which will be aired virtually, in cooperation with the Film Development Council of the Philippines (FDCP).

In the Best Actress category, nominees Charlie Dizon (Fan Girl), Coleen Garcia (Mia), Bela Padilla (On Vodka, Beers and Regrets), Cristine Reyes (UnTrue) and Sylvia Sanchez (Coming Home) will vie for the trophy.

Actors who made it to the shortlist are John Arcilla (Suarez: The Healing Priest), Paulo Avelino (Fan Girl), Elijah Canlas (He Who Is Without Sin), Adrian Lindayag (The Boy Foretold By The Stars) and JC Santos (Motel Acacia).

Five films compete for Best Picture honors: Fan Girl, Hayop Ka! The Nimfa Dimaano Story, He Who Is Without Sin, The Boy Foretold By The Stars and UnTrue.

Among the directors, Sigrid Andrea P. Bernardo (UnTrue), Antoinette Jadaone (Fan Girl), Jason Paul Laxamana (He Who Is Without Sin), Avid Liongoren (Hayop Ka! The Nimfa Dimaano Story) and Irene Emma Villamor (On Vodka, Beers and Regrets) are in the running for the top honor at the 4th Eddys.

For the Best Supporting Actor category, nominated are Ricky Davao (Sunday Night Fever), Matteo Guidicelli (On Vodka, Beers and Regrets), Edgar Allan Guzman (Coming Home), Zanjoe Marudo (Isa Pang Bahaghari) and Enzo Pineda (He Who Is Without Sin).

And who will take home the EDDYS trophy among the Best Supporting Actress nominees — Via Antonio (Alter Me), Rhen Escaño (UnTrue) Agot Isidro (Motel Acacia), Sanya Lopez (Isa Pang Bahaghari) and Shaina Magdayao (Tagpuan)?

The 4th EDDYS will stream on the SPEEd Facebook page, FDCP Channel and other platforms on April 4, Easter Sunday.

Major sponsors are Beautederm Corporation and Toktok with support from San Miguel Corporation, Tiger Crackers, Smart Shot, Aficionado of Joel Cruz; House Speaker Lord Allan Velasco, Rep. Alfred Vargas, Rep. Niña Taduran (ng Partylist na ACT-CIS), Raffy Tulfo, Willie Revillame and Maris Pure Corp.

Latest Chika TEAM
Latest Chika TEAMhttps://latestchika.com/
Latest Chika is PSN and Philippine STAR's online entertainment hub | Your one stop shop for the latest showbiz news, trending, viral stories, and more!

Must Read